Lobby bug.

All public release bug reports or requests for help, large and small, go in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ancient
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Goiania. GO. Brasil

Lobby bug.

Post by Ancient » Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:43 pm

There is often the problem where me and my mates cannot Start a match, Once we click launch, it goes endlessly looking for dedicated servers. It does not Host locally like it should. (As seen on the top left of the screen)
Another type of the same bug is that we are unable to launch the game by clicking on Launch. It simply does not start looking for a server nor does it host one automatically. Making us re-host and restart the game several times till it works. (Sometimes the "Join game" button appears but no one is actually able to join, so we continue stuck in the lobby, all of us, tested with various different peeps)

I have also noticed some players will be auto-kicked once they enter your lobby, i fixed this by asking my mates to all turn off there antivirus firewalls. (The game should automatically set your antivirus to make an exception for the game no? It does with Hl2dm & others)

I presume you guys already know of these things, but its kinda getting annoying.
No screenshots need for this now right? :roll:
I got a page where i post Source Engine stuff i make. you can take a look here: http://www.moddb.com/members/ancientterra

Image

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Lobby bug.

Post by Sandern » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:32 pm

- If it looks for a dedicated server, does it find something or just keeps saying it's looking?

- If you can't join the game, then the host firewall is likely blocking.

- I'm unaware of being auto-kicked from the lobby. What does it say when you are kicked? What anti-virus/firewall crap?

User avatar
Ancient
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Goiania. GO. Brasil

Re: Lobby bug.

Post by Ancient » Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:16 pm

Sandern wrote:- If it looks for a dedicated server, does it find something or just keeps saying it's looking?

- If you can't join the game, then the host firewall is likely blocking.

- I'm unaware of being auto-kicked from the lobby. What does it say when you are kicked? What anti-virus/firewall crap?
It says it is looking for a dedicated, it keeps looking for a server endlessly, without actually being able to find one. Bugging the whole lobby (Buttons becoming highlighted when you mouse over them but do not work etc...)

Couldn't you guys put up a message or something, to tell the player to disable the firewall or something? Or a .bat file that requests permission to the firewall?

Nothing at all, no message whatsoever, it just returns you to the main menu Automatically, happened various times without the host having kicking intentions, i am pretty sure, even in my own hosted LW games this happens to some people. Relaunching everybody's game and hope it doesn't do that kinds solves it though. :?: Though it may be related to a underlying firewall (Windows firewall), dunno for sure though.

Using steam build btw, Just by any change the dev build still exists.
I got a page where i post Source Engine stuff i make. you can take a look here: http://www.moddb.com/members/ancientterra

Image

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Lobby bug.

Post by Sandern » Fri Jun 12, 2015 7:04 pm

I fixed one case in today's update which could result in the server finding getting stuck. There is also a cancel button now, so you can stop the search progress.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest