Bug Thread Developer build

All public release bug reports or requests for help, large and small, go in here.
User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:02 pm

Updated to rev 2054. Nice fixes, Sandern, thank you!

But I encountered a crash case that wasn't the case before.
In offline practice, I started getting crashes at 60% loading bar, quitting to desktop.
First I observed it only when clicking the new Tutorial/Offline Practice buttons (the academic cap and the soldier wearing it respectively), and now I get crashes with the upper button launch as well.

And surprisingly, this crash happens with no Windows error message on app crash, while the standard quit button does produce the error window!

For Play Online, luckily, all the buttons work correctly.



Some more bugs:

-Camera starting position is now zoomed into HQ on all the maps, both older and the two newest.
-When doing Research in Overrun, the existing Combine sound 'Research Complete' isn't played even for Combine;
-When spawning Energy Cell instantly in Sandbox, its particle effect isn't played (probably ProgSys will fix this, as he did for Power Generator before)

Of the bugs in the previous list-
This one hasn't been fixed yet, though you claim it has been)

6) In Sandbox I can spawn other players' units with spacebar only, the place+click oriented placement always spawns my units, regardless of the player selected in selection box (see screenshot).
Attachments
oriented spawner not using player selection.jpg
oriented spawner not using player selection.jpg (66.53 KiB) Viewed 2363 times
Last edited by HEVcrab on Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Testers gonna test.

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by Sandern » Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:53 pm

HEVcrab wrote: 6) In Sandbox I can spawn other players' units with spacebar only, the place+click oriented placement always spawns my units, regardless of the player selected in selection box.
It's intended, not going to fix that.

User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Sat Oct 19, 2013 6:02 pm

Sandern wrote:It's intended, not going to fix that.
If one needs to place an enemy floor turret aimed in the specified direction or arrange a fair strength test of units face to face with about equal chances to win (for example, send an Engineer in cover and spawn an SMG Metrocop to fight him), this feature had better be fully functional,enabling oriented placement of any player's unit ;)
Testers gonna test.

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by Sandern » Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:38 pm

HEVcrab wrote: But I encountered a crash case that wasn't the case before.
In offline practice, I started getting crashes at 60% loading bar, quitting to desktop.
First I observed it only when clicking the new Tutorial/Offline Practice buttons (the academic cap and the soldier wearing it respectively), and now I get crashes with the upper button launch as well.
Fixed now. The "offline" tab now shows a tutorial/youtube video in an iframe, but the page wasn't cleaned up correctly (causing the crash).

User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:51 pm

Two more bugs:

1) Hopper mines don't explode as enemies approach them.

2) Starting camera zoomed into HQ (rare but yet occurring)
Attachments
Camera zoomed into HQ.jpg
Camera zoomed into HQ.jpg (83.49 KiB) Viewed 2317 times
Testers gonna test.

JJ
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:09 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by JJ » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:01 pm

Sandern wrote:
HEVcrab wrote: But I encountered a crash case that wasn't the case before.
In offline practice, I started getting crashes at 60% loading bar, quitting to desktop.
First I observed it only when clicking the new Tutorial/Offline Practice buttons (the academic cap and the soldier wearing it respectively), and now I get crashes with the upper button launch as well.
Fixed now. The "offline" tab now shows a tutorial/youtube video in an iframe, but the page wasn't cleaned up correctly (causing the crash).
Pressing the play offline button still crashing for me while loading.
Fixed now.

The menu doesn't show up until I open the console after installing the mod and opening it for the first time.

Also, I finally noticed why the attack move cursor would appear when I didn't want it to.
Pressing attack move then, selecting a building or something with a hotkey won't cancel the attack move.
mapper

User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:22 pm

JJ wrote: The menu doesn't show up until I open the console after installing the mod and opening it for the first time.
I confirm this as well.
Testers gonna test.

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by Sandern » Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:26 pm

HEVcrab wrote:
JJ wrote: The menu doesn't show up until I open the console after installing the mod and opening it for the first time.
I confirm this as well.
Not a bug. It generates the sound cache the first time you launch the mod and only does this in the developer build (the public build already includes the sound cache file).

User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:40 am

My latest list:

1)HQ buildings of CPU players show only particle effects and no destruction models when exploding.

2)Floor turret fire sector drawn when spawning is still buggy.
Testers gonna test.

JJ
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:09 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by JJ » Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:40 am

Attack move should be disabled while holding the mouse button on the minimap to pan the camera. If you press z while doing this it will get stuck and still pan the camera with the mouse button let go.

Also, any pending order should be cancelled if you select something else with a hotkey. For example placing something with an engineer but not clicking, then pressing a hotkey to select a different unit should cancel the building at your cursor waiting to be placed. Same thing happens with attack move.
mapper

JJ
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:09 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by JJ » Sun Dec 15, 2013 7:11 am

I get this in the console when starting an ability then pressing a hotkey to select something else in annihilation mode and the ability isn't cancelled. In sanbox this doesn't happen and everything works properly.

Code: Select all

Error in receiver <function OnSelectionChanged at 0xFE2A4870> (module: core.abilities.base): 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\dispatch\dispatcher.py", line 194, in send_robust
    response = receiver(signal=self, sender=sender, **named)
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\abilities\base.py", line 680, in OnSelectionChanged
    abi.OnSelectionChanged(player)
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\abilities\base.py", line 362, in OnSelectionChanged
    if player != self.player:
TypeError: No registered converter was able to extract a C++ pointer to type class CBaseHandle from this Python object of type SimulatedPlayer
mapper

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by Sandern » Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:35 am

JJ wrote:I get this in the console when starting an ability then pressing a hotkey to select something else in annihilation mode and the ability isn't cancelled. In sanbox this doesn't happen and everything works properly.

Code: Select all

Error in receiver <function OnSelectionChanged at 0xFE2A4870> (module: core.abilities.base): 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\dispatch\dispatcher.py", line 194, in send_robust
    response = receiver(signal=self, sender=sender, **named)
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\abilities\base.py", line 680, in OnSelectionChanged
    abi.OnSelectionChanged(player)
  File "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\hl2wars_asw_dev\python\core\abilities\base.py", line 362, in OnSelectionChanged
    if player != self.player:
TypeError: No registered converter was able to extract a C++ pointer to type class CBaseHandle from this Python object of type SimulatedPlayer
Fixed.

JJ
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:09 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by JJ » Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:08 pm

The grenade cooldown isn't applied if you move the unit before the grenade explodes.
Pressing right ctrl + number keys with something selected makes the game close sometimes. I haven't found a situation where it always happens.
mapper

Sandern
Developer
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by Sandern » Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:15 pm

JJ wrote:The grenade cooldown isn't applied if you move the unit before the grenade explodes.
Pressing right ctrl + number keys with something selected makes the game close sometimes. I haven't found a situation where it always happens.
Fixed the grenade thing. Can't reproduce the right control crash. Right control shouldn't do anything in the first place. Pressing the numbered keys should simply select the assigned groups.

User avatar
HEVcrab
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Bug Thread Developer build

Post by HEVcrab » Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:26 pm

Dev revision 2870 bugs:
1) Medic heal autocast is broken until ordered manually
2) Overrun shows previous wave bar for a moment if the wave ends with timeout
3) Overrun gamerules info (crates, waves...) now overlaps the settings button, should be moved up a bit
4) Blocking situations of units take much time to resolve.
Testers gonna test.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest